#AshlynInProgress, Love Is My Religion, Rants & Raves

Plans Far Greater Than Our Own.

  Life as a college student can be tricky and stressful. I often find myself feeling trapped and questioning my future. Am I making the right choices? Taking the right classes? Is this the right major for me? Am I spending my time wisely? Where are my priorities? 

Whenever I feel overwhelmed I like to look up bible verses to put my mind at ease. I constantly need to remind myself that alothough I have free will to make my own choices in life God has already written my story and I can relax knowing that he plays a hand in everything I do.

Philipians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” I believe in this so much that I have it tattooed on my ribs. Any time I fee like giving up and throwing in the towel I sit back, look in the mirror and remember that I am wonderfully made in His image and through Him I am able to accomplish my dreams and succeed in life.

God also tells us in Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you.” How mind-blowing is that!? God knew his plans for us before we were even a thought in our parent’s mind. It is no accident that we are all here on this Earth. We have a plan and a future perfectly scripted by the Man up above. 

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Things may seem tough right now. Maybe you’re struggling with anxiety, depression, or financial burden. Maybe your grades are slipping and you hate your job. Maybe you feel alone and the light at the end of the tunnel seems to be moving farther and farther away. You can rest assured that God has it all under control. 

I would like to point out some truth to the matter though as well, although our God is a magnificent God he will not just fix everything for you. It is up to you to make the first step. You must call upon God, invite him back into your life and be willing to follow him unconditionally. Lay down your selfish life and pick up the cross and lead the life God has in store for you. 

  

How cool is it that our God has made it so that we are not merely wandering through life, but instead are living predetermined plan laid out by Him that is far greater than anything we could ever fathom on our own? Sometimes it is so easy to get caught up in the NOW of things. Things may seem rocky, stressful, scary… Etc. But if you believe in God rest assured that you are taken care of. 

God, thank you for your gracious and forgiving heart. Thank you for giving us the option for a clean slate no matter our past. Thank you for seeing us through our struggles and loving us unconditionally. Please help me to remember that I am never alone and that you have plans far greater than my own. Lead me to trust you when times get hard. 

Amen.

Just some food for thought this Wednesday morning. Stay blessed!

  
Ashlyn Sullivan
As always, I can be contacted through the “contact me” tab. 

Leave a Reply

