Beyond Blessed.

I am on cloud nine this morning! God is so good. I awoke this morning to my cell phone ringing with a number that I did not recognize. Upon answering I heard the familiar voice of Sheelu, the director of financial aide at Wichita State University. Sheelu first invited me into her office back in the first months of the year after reading a newspaper article about my blog. In the article I stated that I wanted to attend Wichita State this fall and Sheelu wanted to make sure that it happened.

Well, this morning Sheelu called with exciting news that she had been withholding until I had gotten my FAFSA filled out and turned in. Are you all ready for this? *cue music*

A VERY GENEROUS AND ANONYMOUS DONOR DONATED MONEY TO ME TO BE USED AS A SCHOLARSHIP FOR MY SCHOOLING!

I have been crying tears of joy all morning as this is the best possible gift I could have ever been given. I feel as though nothing that I could ever write or say would even hint at how thankful I am.

With this donation I will pay for my school and not have to take out loans and fall into more debt. With this donation I will be able to work less hours at work and spend more time helping the community and getting involved on campus.

I have an overwhelming sense of empowerment and I know that this year at Wichita State will be the best year of college so far. I plan to take every opportunity that I can to make this world a better place.

THANK YOU. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE. THANK YOU TO THOSE WHO HAVE SUPPORTED ME ALONG THIS AMAZING JOURNEY. THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO HAS EVER GIVEN ME WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT. I AM SO BEYOND GRATEFUL THIS MORNING!

I know this is turning into a rambling blog entry.. but I just have to much to say without knowing how to say it.


Dear Anonymous Donor,

If you are reading this, I just want you to know that I will be eternally grateful for the gift you have just given me.

I have tears of joy filling my eyes as I sit down to type this out. I am left speechless at your genorosity and compassion. It is because of YOU, anonymous donor, that I will be able to continue out my college education. It is because of YOU that I will get to impact and change the lives of others. I pray that someday I will be able to pay it forward to another deserving young college student.

I am partnering with the office of admissions at Wichita State University to write you a personal thank you letter and I pray and hope that some day I will get to meet you face to face.

For now, I will just make a promise to you and to myself that I will not let you down. I will study hard in school and get good grades. I promise to be involved on campus in several areas. I promise that some day I will give back to the Wichita community.

I look forward to writing you a personal thank you letter this week. I am and forever will be thankful for you! Thank you for the gift of a lifetime.

Love,
Ashlyn Sullivan

6 thoughts on “Beyond Blessed.

Add yours

  1. Ashlyn, congratulations! This is such great news that put a smile back on my face after learning this morning that one of my son’s best friends over many decades was killed in the crash of a small plane yesterday. Your goals are an inspiration, and the fact is that in spite of all the sadness in the world, good things do happen to good people.

    1. Marti, thank you!

      I am so sorry to hear of your family’s loss. Lifting you all up in prayer. May your son and his friend’s family find comfort in knowing that God has a plan!

  2. Congrats girl!! Even though I don’t know you personally, after reading your blog posts I can say that you deserve it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

