So You Want To Call Yourself A Christian, But You’re Against Gay Marriage.

Another one of my rants too long for a Facebook post.
image

** my laptop is broken & I am typing this from my phone. Please ignore any errors as I try to correct them! **

Please keep in mind that what is stated below is strictly my opinion. Feel free to disagree with it. Feel free to share your thoughts & your opinions, however, it must be done in a positive light. I will not tolerate rudeness or bullying on this post. Thanks & happy reading!

First of all, let me be really honest with you all. I consider myself a Christian. I believe that God died on the cross for my sins & that whenever I have fulfilled his plan for me on Earth that I will get to go spend my eternal life with Him. With that being said though, I am far from a “perfect” christian. (Whatever that is)

I lie. I don’t go to church every Sunday. I have tattoos (How dare I decorate my body tastfully, right?) I drink underage. My first kiss was in 5th grade. I used to be a party girl. I have smoked before. I cuss like a sailor. I am pro-choice. & I support Gay Marriage

Ya’ll are probably rolling your eyes at this point.. “Oh here we go, another post about equality.. that’s all I see on my timeline.. blah blah blah.” Sorry – but this is just something that I feel strongly about & I wanted to voice my opinion on the matter. I have been trying to think of ways to do this gracefully… but it’ll probably turn into me rambling my opinions. Just stay with me on this. 🙂

I am sure at this point we all know that on Friday morning the Supreme Court ruled in favor for gay marriage to be recognized and legal nationwide. Obama stated that it is a “Victory for America.”

Although it is certainly a super uber positive thing to of happened for LGBTQ couples across the nation… in my opinion it’s just the first step of many that needs to take place. I could write several blogs about equality when it comes to the LGBTQ community.. but today I want to focus on this: You can be a Christian & still support Gay Marriage.

Did I just use Christianity and gay marriage in the same sentence without condeming the LGBTQ community? Holy Guacomole, someone call a pastor because I’m headed straight for hell… right?

WRONG-O BUCK-O.

image

So why is it that a majority of Christians are homophobes & are against gay marriage? Is it because it is in the bible? (LOL)

The bible only slightly even refers to homosexuality 6-7 times… & when it does? IT’S RIGHT NEXT TO ALL THE OTHER OLD “LAWS” THAT NO ONE ELSE GIVES A DAMN ABOUT! Do we condemn people because they wear makeup, or because they’ve cut their hair? No.

So why does a majority of Christians want to focus on a stupid little verse here and there about gay marriage? Why are churches closing doors, passing gossip, & turning away members of the LGBTQ community?

You call yourselves Christians, yet instead of approaching the LGBTQ community with open arms and gracious hearts… you shun them? You judge them? YOU TURN THEM AWAY FROM GOD!?

I remember as a kid learning in Sunday school that God created us all equal & that we were made beautifully in his image. Each and every one of us. So why is it that as adults we start to venture from the simple faith we had as children? Why are politics and churches trying to interfere with each other? Why are we hypocrites? I believe that being “gay” isn’t a choice. God made people how he wanted them.. Which it just so happens that God created members of the LGBTQ community. (SHOUTOUT TO GOD, THANK YOU, BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW WHAT I WOULD DO WITHOUT SOME OF MY GAY BEST FRIENDS!)

It’s no wonder Christians have such a bad reputation.. it’s no wonder I feel the need to explain myself whenever I state that I am of the Christian faith. “<uHi. Yes, I am a Christian.. but no.. I am not against gay marriage. No, I don’t think you’re going to hell. Yes, I try to love everbody.”

God says above all to love one another.

Let no debt remain outstanding, except the continuing debt to love one another, for whoever loves others has fulfilled the law. The commandments, “You shall not commit adultery,” “You shall not murder,” “You shall not steal,” “You shall not covet,” and whatever other command there may be, are summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” Love does no harm to a neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law — Romans 13:8-10

He also says that none of us are without sin, & to condemn another human being we should first reflect on our own sins.

Let any one of you who is without sin be the first to throw a stone at her. — John 8: 7

The “church” is so worried about marrying two gay people who have unfailing love towards one another and nothing but pure intentions for life long happiness… but yet the “church” has no problem marrying people who have sinned otherwise? When are we going to live by what is preached? THAT WE ALL SIN AND WE ARE ALL FORGIVEN!? (** statement: I do not believe that homosexuality is a sin**)

The “church” doesn’t want members of the LGBTQ community to sit among their pews… but they let child molesters and murders be baptized & saved. SEE THE HYPOCRISY!?

I’m probably not even making sense at this point.. but just remember folks… GOD CALLS US TO LOVE ONE ANOTHER. THAT’S IT. LEAVE THE JUDGING UP TO THE BIG MAN UPSTAIRS!

image

image

Let me see all those facebook rainbow pictures stay up PROUDly. ❤

image

6 thoughts on “So You Want To Call Yourself A Christian, But You’re Against Gay Marriage.

Add yours

  1. oh my! as a member of the LGBT community AND a relitive of the author i am deeply touched and blessed to have this person in my life and to know she has the True spirit of God alive and living in her heart. ASHLYNSULLY may God continue to bless you and protect you.

  2. As usual, you are right on target! I love that at your young age you have the wisdom of an old soul. I am so very, very, very tired of the “faux Christians” who use their religion as a club against those who do not share their narrow beliefs. They are just that: Beliefs! And, by the way, if God’s word is the absolute truth and unerring, did he really mean for there to be 42 different interpretations to the Baptists (there are 42 different groups), or any of the other faiths that have divided on interpretation of God’s word? As long as humans are in charge of religion there will be wars, hatred and all that comes with “I’m right, you’re wrong, and the natural outcome of that thinking is evidenced in the virulent hatred between various groups around the world. Stand tall and speak up against such thinking and such interpretation of what God actually expects from us.

  3. I love this so much. I grew up in a religious household, but my parents taught me to be open about things such as this, and think for myself, which I why I back equality like this so much. Thank you for putting this so eloquently.

  4. You’re no Christian at all, because you base your faith on your thoughts and feelings (Jeremiah 17:9-10; Isaiah 5:20) than what is right in the word of God (Psalms 119:137-138). There are three things that constitute a biblical Christian: belief in the Holy Trinity (1 John 5:7), belief that the Bible is the sole and final authority of one’s life (2 Timothy 3:16-17), and belief that Jesus in 100% man and 100% God (1 Timothy 3:16). Taking a look at what you’ve written, seeing that you incorporate your own feelings than the truth (2 Peter 1:16-21; Isaiah 55:8-13), I can tell you rely on your own thinking than the spiritual understanding of God (1 Corinthians 2:6-16). By that default, you don’t believe that the Bible is your sole and final authority of your life, which means you are a deceiver (Jude 4; Matthew 7:15). With that in mind, you don’t believe in the other two points because all three are connected (1 John 5:13). To take one out is to take all out (Revelation 22:18-19). The suggestion I have for you is to be born again (John 3:1-21; 1 Peter 1:22-25) by the blood of Christ (1 Peter 2:21-25) so that the Holy Spirit indwells and seals you (1 Corinthians 6:19-20; Ephesians 1:13-23) to that He may guide you to all truth (John 16:13) by teaching (John 14:26) to point you unto the Son that is the Way, the Truth, and the Life unto the Father (John 14:6) so you can be reconciled back unto Him (2 Corinthians 5:14-21) daily so we can conform unto God’s holiness (Romans 12:1-2; 1 Peter 1:15-16). He is the standard (1 John 4:7-21; Matthew 22:36-40). Come unto the Physician and be healed (Matthew 9:12-13) from your sin (Mark 10:19; James 2:9-11) that separates you from God (Genesis 3:1-7; Romans 5:12).

Leave a Reply

