To Those Graduating

image

Man, I remember two years ago I was graduating. Stressed out about who all was going to come to my graduation party because there was about 18 others going on the same day as mine. I remember stressing out about what I was going to wear under my graduation gown. I remember crying because I thought this was the end of a lot of friendships. I remember being excited to start a new chapter in my life, but also scared of leaving the familiarity of my high school.

Two years ago I remember writing a letter to my closest friends who would still be in high school after I left. I wrote them a list of things to get them through high school.  A list of little insights. Things I wish I would have done, things I was proud of, or things I knew I would I miss.

It blows my mind that those girls are now graduating.

I may not have kept in touch like I had planned to… But life gets busy, & we all know that too well! I am so incredibly proud of the way that you have each turned out. You’re all superstars and I cannot wait to see how far you’ll excel in your next life journey’s.

image

To those who are graduating:

1. Hug your parents. Your parents have been your rock these past 18 years. If they’re anything like my mom was, they’re probably already crying because their babies are growing up. Hug them. Let them know how thankful you are for their guidance and endless support.

2. Take a ton of pictures. You’re going to reflect back on these days as some of the happiest moments in your life. Take pictures. Lots and lots of pictures. You’ll be happy you did.

3. Let your teachers know you appreciated them. There’s a good chance that you were a brat towards them at one point in your high school career. They put up with a lot of sh*t so that you can graduate and succeed. Take a minute to let them know you truly appreciate them.

4. If you move away for college. Call home every day. Call your mom every single day. I remember my step dad telling me this before I left & I was just like “yeah okay, whatever” but this has created such a good habit of calling my mom now. Plus, chances are you’ll miss her more than you think you will. Seriously, call your mom.

5. You’re about to experience so many new things. Embrace them! But please, please, please, please be smart. Invest in some mace & never walk alone at night. Don’t let anyone pour a drink for you. Know your limits and don’t test them. Never drink and drive or get into a car with someone who has. You’ll thank me later.

6. Get involved on campus. Campuses can be super Uber lonely when you’re homesick. Get involved and stay busy! (Plus it will look great on future resumes and help you make friends. Two birds with one stone!)

7. Visit home. You’re family misses you. Take a weekend off and come home. (It’s best when you surprise them, trust me.)

8. Have fun. These are gonna be some of the best years of your life. ENJOY THEM! Remember that each day is a new day, & a new opportunity. Be yourself. Be carefree. & LIVE!

9. Make new friends & experience new cultures. Yeah, high school friends will always be your A1 since day 1’s.. but don’t be afraid to make new friends. My best friend that I made at K-State was a foreign exchange student & she taught me so much!

10. I am always a phone call away. Remember, I’m always a text or phone call away. Chances are if you’ve screwed up, I’ve already been there and done that. I’m always here to listen & help.

I could write a book on the things I’ve learned since moving out of the highschool realm and into the “real world.” If you ever need help or advice, just contact me!

image

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

