Tonsillectomy: Day 2 – 4

Everyone that I talked to before getting my tonsils out told me that it was the worst surgery they had ever had.. & now I’m starting to believe them. My mom’s friend said she would rather deliver 10 babies without pain medication than to ever go through a tonsillectomy ever again. I’ve never given birth, but I have always imagined it being the most painful thing that I, as a woman, would ever have to go through. Apparently not.

On day 2 I was extremely exhausted. I didn’t get more than 3 hours of sleep the night before and I was having a terrible time taking my medications. I had laid in my mother’s bed for a solid 24 hours before having a mental breakdown. I was upset because my brother was “subtweeting” that I needed attention. Normally this wouldn’t have bothered me, but when you’re in a ton of pain, you can’t talk, you haven’t slept or ate anything for 24 hours, & you’re drugged up.. it was a huge deal.

On day 2 my boyfriend also came over to see me & brought my puppies over. (Seriously was a huge mood booster)
image

image
That night we decided to have me sleep sitting up in a recliner so I wouldn’t choke in my sleep. (in hopes that I could actually get some sleep)

Didn’t work.
Pain scale: 7/10

Day 3
Day 3 is kind of a blur looking back.. I almost had to go to the ER because I couldn’t swallow anything, therefore I was getting dehydrated. Then to top it all off I started throwing up. Yesterday was probably the worst day I’ve had so far. I actually felt like I was dying. I’m so thankful for my mom though. She basically force fed me my meds, but I needed them and felt so much better afterwards. I even got like a 25 minute nap in & then later actually got some alright sleep (meaning more than 4 hours)
Pain scale: 10/10

Day 4
Today has been awful. Mornings are the worst because I wake up and my mouth us so dry from sleeping with my mouth open. Plus I was in a lot of pain because I was an hour late for my meds. (Not that the sleep wasn’t worth it though) The biggest problem today is the nausea. Zoloft doesn’t seem to be doing the trick on keeping my meds down so awe had to go get a suppository. (Joy) Also, I am convinced that the liquid pain medication is handmade by the devil himself. It’s like trying to choke down battery acid.
image
The most annoying thing is the scabs in the back of your throat. They taste AWFUL and I can feel them every time I breathe or swallow.. only making me gag even more.

Basically this is how I feel today
image
I really hope this surgery is worth it in the end… because right now I’m still in full on regret mode.

12 thoughts on “Tonsillectomy: Day 2 – 4

Add yours

  1. I had my tonsils removed 2 years ago, I’m 18 so that would make me 16 when I had the procedure. I also wish someone would have told me the amount of pain and lack of sleep and energy I would have. A couple days later I was in the Emergency Room, dehydration. I was on a liquid medication for pain. I couldn’t even swallow to begin with & everytime I took the medicine I would wind up choking. It took me a FULL MONTH to completely recover. Some things that helped me get through the pain : Mango Water Ice, Pudding, Water, Watermelon (towards the end). Cold foods that you don’t have to chew. It’s hard & I completely understand your pain, while at the E.R I even asked the nurse if I would ever get better because it hurt so bad. Don’t drink gatorade, it’s high in sodium and will make you dehydrated. Stick to water, it’s your best friend right now. And I also found that when you have your tonsils removed it affects your ears & nose as well. If your ears hurt keep in mind that it is NOT your ears that are hurting. It is your throat, everything is connected & it makes it feel like its everything else too. I hope I helped a bit. If you have any questions or feel like complaining because you’re in pain (God knows I did a lot of that) feel free to message me on facebook! Btw, whats your facebook name on there!? Take care girlf!

  2. I know how you feel! I got mine removed when I was 14 (main reason was because I used to get strep at least 7x a year). For me, it just felt like a really bad strep times 10 and the pain lasted about a week. My main life saver were popsicles and the 7-11 slurpees. Just stay away from solid foods that are hard to swallow. Good luck!

  3. I spent my senior year spring break on the couch for 9 days when I had my tonsils removed. It was the absolute worst time of my life and I was pretty sure I was never going to recover. I mean, taking an hour to eat a piece of pizza for the rest of my life couldn’t be THAT bad, right?
    The good news is, it gets better. I had the same problems with dehydration and struggles with meds/nausea. The suppositories helped massively, but it really is worth it to force the meds down, even a little early before the others wear off.
    Whatever you do, no ice cream! Try to stay on top of showering, too.

    Praying for a quick recovery:) you’re past the worst days; it can only get better!

    1. Thank you so much! It really is awful. I’ve been reading so much about it. Warm stuff is what feels the best right now. I’ve tried popsicles.. but they just don’t help.

  4. Hey girl! You are doing great! Had mine out 2 years ago when I was 22. Was hospitalized on day 6, lost 20 pounds in 2 weeks. I promise it gets better. Also when your done and feel better, don’t drink achohol or eat a lot of salt. It will make you feel sick and make your tonsils hurt again. Your posts are inspiring! You are younger than me but you already have a great mature outlook in the world. That will serve you well! Stay positive and strong, you will get thru it!

  5. I just like the valuable info you supply in your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and take a look at once more here frequently.
    I’m somewhat certain I’ll be told many new stuff right right here!
    Good luck for the following!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

