Rants & Raves

Are you alive or just breathing?

image

I stumbled across this quote the other day & it really stuck with me. Lately I have been going through life “just breathing” and not actually being “alive.” I get so caught up in my day to day routine. School, work, homework, sleep, try to eat somewhere in between all of that, add in some excercise, drive 2 hours home every other weekend to work some more, drive back to school, repeat.

This weekend at K – State it was Fake Patty’s day and my boyfriend came up with his friends and a few of my friends traveled up here as well. Despite the day not going as planned we all had a good time. It was the first time in awhile that I had let the stress of school and work be forgotten. IT FELT SO GOOD!

It was like a mini vacation for my conscious and I really need to remind myself to let loose and give myself “me” time from now on. This is supposed to be the best years of my life and my days here at KSU are limited.

Just some random food for thought. I would love to hear your thoughts on this quote.

Sidenote: I got another tattoo this weekend!

image

Xoxo – Ashlyn

4 thoughts on “Are you alive or just breathing?”

  1. great as the message of that quote is, it would be remiss to forget that breathing is part of being alive, as a source of life. One can be very much alive and present even in the most mundane of necessities.

    1. I’m not quite sure what it is that you’re saying. I know that breathing is a part of life, it’s how we survive. And I know that life can get mundane every now and then. The point I was making though is that sometime you need to let loose & be free. That you don’t have to get sucked into a routinely mundane life. That being alive is apart of being free and having fun. And that when your stuck in the boring day to day routine that you’re wasting the life you’ve been given.

Leave a Reply

